

Confirmed Minutes of the Annual Plan 2011/12 Hearing Committee meeting held in the Council Chamber, Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street Wellington, on Thursday, 19 and Friday, 20 May 2011 at 9.32am

Present during entire meeting

Councillors Wilde (Chair), Aitken, Brash, Donaldson, Glensor, Greig, and Lamason.

Present during part of meeting

Councillors Bruce (absent 12.40pm - 1.29 pm Friday), McPhee (departed 3.16pm on Friday), Ponter (arrived 9.34am Thursday and absent 9.50am - 1.13 pm on Friday), Swain (present Friday), and Wilson (arrived 9.35am Thursday).

01 **Apologies**

Moved

(Cr Wilde/Cr Aitkin)

That the Council accepts the:

- 1. Apologies for absence from Councillor Laidlaw for Thursday and Friday, and Councillor Swain for Thursday.
- 2. Apologies for late arrival and/or early departure received from Councillors Bruce, *McPhee, Ponter, and Wilson.*

The motion was CARRIED.

02 Conflict of Interest declarations

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

03 **Process for considering submissions on the Proposed Annual Plan 2011/12 and** other matters that are the subject of concurrent consultation

Report 11.198

File: SP/04/04/03

Moved

(Cr Greig/Cr Aitkin)

That the Committee:

- *1. Receives the report.*
- 2. Notes the convent of the report.
- 3. Considers all written and oral submissions in the manner set out in section 4 of this report.
- 4. Notes the responses from General Managers on the submissions (contained in Report 11.196).
- 5. Reports its findings and recommendations to the Council meeting on 8 June 2011, and if appropriate, asks the Chief Executive to further report on the implications of any proposals that it considers warrant further consideration at the Council meeting on 8 June 2011 as well as on any matters which may impact on rate requirements.
- 6. Agrees that the Council Chair sign the formal replies to all submitters on the basis of General Managers' replies, or as otherwise recommended by the Committee and determined by Council, following formal adoption of the Annual Plan 2011/12 and other matters that are the subject of concurrent consultation
- 7. Agrees that the late submissions tabled at the meeting (from George Herbert, Colin Sarten, Helen Waddington, Riki Hiemer, Therese Boyle, Ross Jamieson, and Mrs E Brooks) be accepted.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

04 Submissions received on the Proposed Annual Plan 2011/12 (including amendments to policies and 10-Year Plan 2009-19)

Report 11.196

File: SP/04/04/03

Moved

(Cr Lamason/Cr Greig)

That Council:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report and the attachments.

The motion was CARRIED.

05 Hearing of submissions

Noted

- 1. There were changes to the scheduled timetable of oral submissions during the meeting as some submitters did not appear and organisations were represented by different personnel.
- 2. The Committee considered the written submissions in numerical order during the meeting.
- 3. Oral submissions together with the written submissions of the oral presenters were considered at the conclusion of all the oral presentations.
- 4. Definitions of the following acronyms:
 - LGFA = Proposal to join the Local Government Funding Agency
 - DD = Proposed Dangerous Dams Policy
 - RM = Proposed Resource Management Charging Policy

Thursday 19 May

Time	AP Sub. No.	Name and organisation	Other processes Sub. No.
9.42 - 9.56	237	Andrew MacPherson, Matthew Hall & John Deal (Animal Health Board)	
9:56 - 10.07	217	Christina Bellis	RM 70
10:30 - 10.36	228	Rick Mooney (Hutt City Council – Western Community Committee)	LGFA 80 DD 80 RM 72

The meeting adjourned at 11.00 am and reconvened at 11.15 am.

11.36 - 11.45	246	Benjamin Mallett	LGFA 83
11.45 - 11.51	241	Wayne Guppy & Chris Upton (<i>Upper Hutt</i> <i>City Council</i>)	
	The above submitter tabled additional material in support of their submission.		
11.51 - 12.09	188	Betty van Galen (Kapiti Grey Power Association Inc)	LGFA 69
			DD 73
			RM 62
	The above submitter tabled additional material in support of her submission.		
2.11 - 12.47	204	Max Leitz, Trena Harris, Eric Matthews, & Trevor Wylie (<i>Friends of the Otaki River</i>)	

The meeting adjourned at 12.48 pm and reconvened at 1.29 pm.

1.30 - 1.45	11	A Walker & Gunter Wabnitz	LGFA 1
			DD 1
			RM 1

1.45 - 1.50	37	Norman Wilkins	
	The above submitter tabled additional material in support of his submission.		
1.50 - 2.00	125	Chris Renwick	LGFA 49
			DD 50
			RM 44
2.01 - 2.09	202	Michael Ellis & Lisa Bridson (Hutt City Council – Eastern Community Board))	
2.09 - 2.16	224	Phaedra Upton (Cycle Aware Wellington)	
	The above submitter tabled additional material in support of her submission.		
2.16 - 2.23	253	Graham Howell	
2.45 - 3.00	213	Ian McKeown	
3.00 - 3.11	215	Elizabeth McGruddy & Anders Croofoot	DD 79
		(Federated Farmers)	RM 69

The meeting adjourned at 3.11 pm am and reconvened at 3.23 pm.

The meeting adjourned at 5.24 pm, and reconvened on Friday 20 May 2011 at 9.34 am.

Friday 20 May

Time	AP Sub. No.	Name & organisation	Other processes Sub No.
9.34 - 9.43	196	Mike Mellor (Public Transport Voice)	195
9:43 - 10.02	142	Demetrius Christoforou	
10.02 - 10.10	242	Don McDonald	
	The above submitter tabled additional material in support of his submission.		
10.10 - 10.23	184	Max Shierlaw	LGFA 65
10.23 - 10.30	75	Noeline Gannaway	
10:30 - 10.38	234	Jason Markham	
10:38 - 10.49	216	John Lancashire (Friends of QE2 Park)	
10.49 - 11.02	255	Liz Springford	

The meeting adjourned at 11.02 am and reconvened at 11.20 am.

11.20 - 11.47	199	Bill Voisey	
	249	Ken Jackson	RM 76
	221	Margot Fry	
	212	Shayne Edwards on behalf of JD and LJ Curtis	RM 68
	201	Godfrey Fernandez	
	The above submitters tabled additional material to their submissions.		
11.55 - 12.10	230	Michael Taylor	
12.10 - 12.15	124	Robert Linterman (EECA)	
12.15 - 12.30	214	Angela McLeod & Noeline Berkett (Upper Hutt Rural Residents' Association)	LGFA 77

The meeting adjourned at 12.28 pm and reconvened at 1.10 pm.

1.13 – 1.33	239	Penny Gaylor & Sue Johnson (Kapiti Coast District Council)	LFGA 82
1.33 – 1.42	128	Anthony Morris	
1.42 – 1. 52	235	Ra Smith (Kahungunu Ki Wairarapa)	
	The above submitter tabled additional material in support of his submission.		
1.52 - 2.00	153	Frank Cook	DD 54
	The above submitter tabled additional material in support of his submission.		
2.00 - 2.16	256	Tony Randle (Johnsonville Progressive Association)	
2.16 - 2.35	198	Stephen Journee (The Dive Guys)	

The meeting adjourned at 2.35 pm and reconvened at 2.48 pm.

Noted

Additional material tabled at the meeting:

- Annual Plan Submitter number 238, Ray Stewart (Sustainable Wairarapa)
- Annual Plan Submitter No. 261, Wellington Chamber of Commerce: full submission.

Meeting concluded at 4.12 pm on Friday 20 May 2011.

Cr F H Wilde (Chair)

Date: