

If calling, please ask for Democratic Services

# **Civil Defence Emergency Management Group**

Extraordinary meeting

Friday 27 August 2021, 9.00am

Via Teams meeting

## Members

Mayor Baker	Porirua City Council
Mayor Barry	Hutt City Council
Mayor Beijen	South Wairarapa District Council
Mayor Guppy	Upper Hutt City Council
Mayor Gurunathan	Kāpiti Coast District Council
Mayor Foster	Wellington City Council
Mayor Lang	Carterton District Council
Mayor Patterson	Masterton District Council
Councillor Ponter	Greater Wellington Regional Council

Recommendations in reports are not to be construed as Council policy until adopted by Council

# **Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Committee**

Extraordinary meeting Friday 27 August 2021, 9.00am Via Teams meeting

# **Public Business**

No.	Item	Report	Page
1.	Welcome and Apologies		
2.	Public participation		
3.	Declaration of conflicts of interest		
4.	Civil Defence Emergency Management Group appointments – 27 August 2021	21.398	3
5.	Covid-19 update	Oral update	

Civil Defence Emergency Management Group 27 August 2021 Report 21.398



**For Decision** 

# CIVIL DEFENCE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT GROUP APPOINTMENTS – 27 AUGUST 2021

## Te take mō te pūrongo Purpose

1. To advise the Wellington Civil Defence Emergency Management (CDEM) Group Joint Committee (the Joint Committee) a number of statutory appointments for the CDEM Group.

### He tūtohu Recommendation

That the Joint Committee:

- 1 **Approves** the addition of the following statutory appointees:
  - a Angela Kimmins as Alternate Controller (Porirua City Council)
  - b Lynne Fuller as Alternate Controller (Porirua City Council)
  - c Karen Stillwell as Alternate Controller (Upper Hutt City Council)

# Te horopaki Context

- 2. Sections 26 and 29 of the CDEM Act 2002 require a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or by reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the:
  - a Group Controller for its area; and
  - b Group Recovery Manager for its area.
- 3. The CDEM Group is also required to appoint, either by name or by reference to the holder of an office, at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller and the Group Recovery Manager respectively if there is a vacancy in office or an absence from duty for any reason.
- 4. Sections 27 and 30 of the CDEM Act 2002 also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be:
  - a A Local Controller; and

b A Local Recovery Manager.

#### **Civil Defence Emergency Management Group appointments**

5. The following key is used in the table below:

Bold – New appointee

Strikethrough - Removed appointee

Standard – Current appointee

#### Group Controllers and alternates

6. The following table proposes an updated list of statutory appointees for the Group Controllers (and alternates and supplementaries):

Area to which appointed	Appointee name and designation
CDEM Group	Mark Duncan (Group Controller)
	Jessica Hare (alternate)
	Jeremy Holmes (alternate)
	Dan Neely (alternate)
	Bruce Pepperell (alternate)
	Derek Baxter (alternate)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Lester Piggott (alternate)
	Phil Becker (alternate)
Wellington City Council	Derek Baxter (primary)
	Phil Becker (alternate)
	Sarah Murray (alternate)
	Moana Mackey (alternate)
	Mike Mendonca (alternate)
Porirua City Council	Jerry Wrenn (primary)
	Alison Wiley (alternate)
	Angela Kimmins (alternate)
	Lynne Fuller (alternate)
	Bruce Pepperell (alternate)
Kāpiti Coast District Council	James Jefferson (primary)
	Steve Cody (alternate)
	Kevin Currie (alternate)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Paul Busing (alternate)
	Scott Dray (supplementary)
Hutt City Council	Lester Piggott (primary)

Area to which appointed	Appointee name and designation
	Craig Cottrill (alternate)
	Jay Houpapa (alternate)
	Anthony Robinson (alternate)
Upper Hutt City Council	Geoff Swainson (primary)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Craig Cottrill (alternate)
	Karen Stillwell (alternate)
	Liezel Jahnke (alternate)
	Jessica Hare (supplementary)
Combined areas of the	David Hopman (primary)
district councils in the	Jonathan Hooker (alternate)
Wairarapa	Tim Langley (alternate)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Murray Johnston (alternate)
	Solitaire Robertson (alternate)
	Darryl McCurdy (supplementary)

#### Group and Local Recovery Managers and alternates

7. The following table proposes an updated list of statutory appointees for the Group Recovery Managers (and alternates):

Area to which appointed	Appointee name and designation
CDEM Group	Dan Neely (Group Recovery Manager)
	Nigel Corry (alternate)
	Luke Troy (alternate)
Wellington City Council	Mike Mendonca (Recovery Manager)
	Paul Andrews (alternate)
	Danny McComb (alternate)
Porirua City Council	Andrew Dalziel (alternate)
Kāpiti Coast District Council	Natasha Tod (Recovery Manager)
	Angela Bell (alternate)
Hutt City Council	Andrea Bradshaw (Recovery Manager)
	Helen Oram (alternate)
Upper Hutt City Council	Liezel Jahnke (Recovery Manager)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate)

Area to which appointed	Appointee name and designation
Combined areas of th	Dave Gittings (Carterton)
district councils in th	Nigel Carter (South Wairarapa)
Wairarapa	David Wilson (Masterton)

#### Non statutory appointments

8. There is no change to the appointment to the Lifelines Co-ordination Manager and Group Welfare Manager.

Area to which appointed	Appointee name and designation
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll (Lifelines Utility Co-ordination Manager)
	Jennifer Rizzi (Welfare Manager)

#### Ngā hua ahumoni Financial implications

9. There are no financial implications associated with the decision to approve the WREMO Annual Report (1 July 2020 - 30 June 2021)

### Ngā tikanga whakatau Decision-making process

10. The matters requiring decision in this report were considered by officers against the decision-making requirements of the CDEM Act 2002 (see paragraphs 2 to 4) and of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

# Te hiranga Significance

11. Officers considered the significance (as defined by Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002) of these matters, taking into account Council's Significance and Engagement Policy and Decision-making Guidelines. Officers recommend that the matters are of low significance, given their administrative nature.

# Te whakatūtakitaki Engagement

12. Due to the low significance of these decisions, no engagement on these matters was undertaken.

# Ngā tūāoma e whai ake nei Next steps

13. No further external communication is required.

# Ngā kaiwaitohu Signatories

Writer	Lucas Stevenson – Kaitohutohu/Advisor, Democratic Services
Approver	Jeremy Holmes – Regional Manager, WREMO

## He whakarāpopoto i ngā huritaonga Summary of considerations

#### Fit with Council's roles or Committee's terms of reference

The CDEM Group makes these appointments and removals under sections 26 to 30 of the CDEM Act 2002 (see paragraphs 2 to 4).

#### Implications for Māori

There are no known implications for Māori.

#### Contribution to Annual Plan / Long term Plan / Other key strategies and policies

There are no known implications for Council's strategies, policies or plans.

#### Internal consultation

All local authority chief executives were engaged and support the proposed appointees.

#### Risks and impacts: legal / health and safety etc.

While there is no significant legal or health and safety risk, it is important that all Controllers, Recovery Managers and Group Welfare appointments are appropriately contracted to the council for which they hold the appointment. Each council is responsible for managing their own appointments and advises the CDEM Group of any changes to statutory appointments.