

Please note these minutes remain unconfirmed until the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on 24 September 2025.

Report 25.311

# Unconfirmed Public minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on Tuesday 24 June 2025

Taumata Kōrero - Council Chamber, Greater Wellington Regional Council 100 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington at 1pm.

# **Members Present**

Mayor Tory Whanau (Chair) Hon. Mayor Ron Mark (Deputy Chair) Mayor Anita Baker Mayor Campbell Barry (from 1.01pm) Mayor Gary Caffell Mayor Martin Connelly (from 1.08pm) Mayor Wayne Guppy Mayor Janet Holborow Council Chair Daran Ponter Wellington City Council Carterton District Council Porirua City Council Hutt City Council Masterton Council South Wairarapa District Council Upper Hutt City Council Kāpiti Coast District Council Greater Wellington Regional Council

Mayors Baker, Barry, Caffell and Connelly participated at this meeting remotely via Microsoft Teams and counted for the purpose of quorum in accordance with clause 25A of Schedule 7 to the Local Government Act 2002.

# Karakia timatanga

The Committee Chair opened the meeting with a karakia timatanga.

# **Public Business**

# 1 Apologies

Moved: Mayor Whanau / Mayor Holborow

That the Joint Committee accepts the apology for absence from Kura Moeahu.

The motion was **carried**.

### 2 Declarations of conflicts of interest

There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.

#### 3 Public participation

There was no public participation.

## 4 Confirmation of the Public minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on 18 March 2025 - Report 25.124

Moved: Mayor Guppy / Hon. Mayor Mark

That the confirms the Public minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on 18 March 2025 - Report 25.124

The motion was **carried**.

### 5 Wellington CDEM Group Strategy 2025-2035 – Report 25.297

Dan Neely, acting Regional Manager, Wellington Region Emergency Management Office, spoke to the report.

Moved: Mayor Whanau / Hon. Mayor Mark

That the Joint Committee:

1 Approves the Wellington Region CDEM Group Strategy 2025-2035 Attachment 1.

The motion was carried.

Mayor Barry joined the meeting at 1.01pm, during the introduction of the above item.

Mayor Connelly joined the meeting at 1.08pm, during the above item.

### 6 National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) Update – Report 25.301

Dave Gawn, Chief Executive, National Emergency Management Agency, spoke to the report.

### 7 CDEM Group Appointments – Report 25.300

Dan Neely, acting Regional Manager, Wellington Region Emergency Management Office, spoke to the report.

#### Moved: Mayor Whanau / Mayor Holborow

That the Joint Committee:

- 1 Approves the removal of the following statutory appointees:
  - a Jeremy Holmes as alternate Group Controller.
  - b Charlie Blanch as Primary Group Controller

- c Lester Piggot as alternate Group Controller and alternate Local Controller for Hutt City Council.
- d Phil Becker as alternate Local Controller for Wellington City Council
- e Carrie McKenzie as Primary Local Controller for Wellington City Council
- f Chris Matthews as alternate Local Controller for Wellington City Council
- g Geoff Swainson as Primary Local Controller for Upper Hutt City Council
- h Murray Jonston as alternate Local Controller for combined councils of the Wairarapa
- i Paul Gardner as alternate Local Controller for combined councils of the Wairarapa
- 2 Approves the addition of the following statutory appointees:
  - a Carrie McKenzie as Primary Group Controller
  - b Charlie Blanch as alternate Group Controller.
  - c Phil Becker as Primary Local Controller for Wellington City Council
  - d Matt Lane as alternate Local Controller for Wellington City Council
  - e Vaughan Condron as alternate Local Controller for Wellington City Council
  - f Duane Greyling as alternate Local Controller for Wellington City Council
  - g Geoff Swainson as alternate Local Controller for Upper Hutt City Council
  - h Gordon Crawley as alternate Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa
    - Johannes Ferreira as alternate Local Controller for the combined councils of the Wairarapa
  - j Vida Christeller as alternate Local Recovery Manager for Wellington City Council
  - k Mia Matheson as alternate Local Recovery Manager for Porirua City Council
  - l Nic Etheridge as alternate Local Recovery Manager for Porirua City Council
  - m Simon Taylor as alternate Local Recovery Manager for the combined councils of the Wairarapa

The motion was **carried**.

# Karakia whakamutunga

The Committee Chair closed the meeting with a karakia whakamutunga.

The public meeting closed at 1.55pm

Mayor T Whanau **Chair** 

Date: